Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and General Counsel
Banner Images

OFFICE OF THE EXECUTIVE VICE CHANCELLOR AND GENERAL COUNSEL - ATTORNEY AND STAFF DIRECTORY

Michael R. Cannon
Executive Vice Chancellor and General Counsel
Phone: 314-935-5152

Danforth Campus

Attorneys Practice Areas
Monica J. Allen
Associate Vice Chancellor, Deputy General
Counsel & Chief Litigation Counsel
Phone: 314-935-9422
Email: Monica.Allen@wustl.edu
Litigation Management, General Commercial Transactions, Corporate Governance, Campus Life Matters, Business Law
Thomas J. Blackwell
Assistant Vice Chancellor and Associate
General Counsel
Phone: 314-935-5266
Email: Thomas_Blackwell@wustl.edu
Real Estate, Finance and Credit Transactions, Construction, Corporate Governance, Tax, Contracts, General Commercial Transactions, Investments
Heidi Potter Klosterman
Associate General Counsel
Phone: 314-935-7323
Email: Heidi_Klosterman@wustl.edu
Construction, Immigration, Emergency Operations, Real Estate, Finance and Credit Transactions, Contracts, Museums, Financial Aid, Investments, General Commercial Transactions
Deanna Wendler Modde
Associate General Counsel
Phone: 314-935-4039
Email: Deanna_Wendler@wustl.edu
Campus Life and Student Issues, Campus Security, FERPA, Athletics
Joseph J. Sklansky
Assistant Vice Chancellor and Associate General Counsel
Phone: 314-935-6733
Email: Joseph_Sklansky@wustl.edu
Employment and Labor, Litigation Management, Civil Rights, Discrimination, Admissions and Financial Aid, Faculty Rights and Tenure, Title VI and Disability Rights Issues
Daniel Hinkle
Cannon Fellow
Phone: 314-935-3645
Email: daniel.hinkle@wustl.edu
 
Lisa M. Wood
Assistant Vice Chancellor and Associate General Counsel
Phone: 314-935-5894
Email: Wood_esq@wustl.edu
Litigation Management, Copyright and Trademark Protection, Health Care Law, General Commercial Transactions

Business Manager

Linda M. Ritter
Phone: 314-935-6887
Email: Ritter@wustl.edu

Accounting Assistant
Sarah Sanning
Phone: 314-935-8108
Email: Sarah_Sanning@WUSTL.EDU

Administrative Assistants:

Mary Ann Anderson
Administrative Assistant to Thomas J. Blackwell, Joseph J. Sklansky, Deanna Wendler Modde and Lisa M. Wood
Phone: 314-935-7009
Email: Maryann_Anderson@wustl.edu

Lisa M.S. Wood
Executive Assistant to Michael  R. Cannon, Monica J. Allen, and Heidi P. Klosterman
Phone: 314-935-5152
Email: Lisa_Wood@wustl.edu

Medical School Campus

Attorneys Practice Areas

John E. Powers
Associate Vice Chancellor and Deputy General Counsel
Phone: 314-362-3962
Email: John.Powers@wustl.edu

Oversee General Health Care Law Practice, including Federal and State Regulatory matters, Medical Research Issues and Provider Transactions; Principal liaison between OGC and senior leadership of Medical School; Assist in Management of OGC and University-wide legal issues.

Kristin Byrd Cardenas
Assistant Vice Chancellor and Associate General Counsel
Phone: 314-362-4101
Email: Kristin_Cardenas@wustl.edu
Medical Professional Liability, Litigation Management, Clinical Practice and Medical Records Issues, Clinical Studies Agreements, Graduate Medical Education Issues
Lisa M. Braun
Assistant Vice Chancellor and
Associate General Counsel
Phone: 314-747-5518
Email: LBraun@wustl.edu
Health Care Transactional and Regulatory Matters, Provider Affiliation Matters, Faculty Practice Plan, Managed Care Contracting Issues, Employment Benefits, Planned Giving, Tax
Christopher W. Goddard
Associate General Counsel
Phone: 314-362-9071
Email: CGoddard@wustl.edu
Corporate Compliance (Teaching Physician Billing), Research Compliance (Export Controls, Grants Compliance, Effort Reporting), Environmental Health & Safety, Medicare Reimbursement, Insurance, Litigation Management, Software Licensing and Taxation
Patricia A. Hart
Assistant Vice Chancellor and
Associate General Counsel
Phone: 314-362-6558
Email: Patricia_Hart@wustl.edu
Research and Administrative Conflicts of Interest, Research Integrity Matters, Human Studies/IRB, Research Regulatory Compliance, Corporate Compliance (Teaching Physician Billing, Research Compliance (Effort Reporting, Grants Compliance, Export Controls), Medicare Reimbursement
James B. Surber
Assistant Vice Chancellor & Associate General Counsel
Phone: 314-362-3783
Email: James_Surber@wustl.edu
Patent Prosecution and Licensing Transactions, General Intellectual Property Matters, Sponsored Research, Research Collaboration, Research Regulatory Compliance, General Contracts

WUSM Legal Office Manager:

Barbara A. Niebruegge
Assistant to John E. Powers and Lisa M. Braun
Phone: 314-362-3633
Email: Barbara.A.Niebruegge@wustl.edu

Paralegal:

Beth Halling
Phone: 314-747-2100
Email: Beth_Halling@wustl.edu

Legal Assistant:

Sandra L. Compton
Assistant to Kristin Byrd Cardenas and James B. Surber
Phone: 314-362-3634
Email: Sandra_Compton@wustl.edu

Administrative Assistant:

Concepcion B. Sarusal
Administrative Assistant to Christopher W. Goddard and Patricia Hart
Phone: 314-362-3966
Email: Connie_Sarusal@wustl.edu